blogging

My 2016 Japan Trip; Photo Post! (part 1)

Almost a year ago, my husband & I took our second trip to Japan. It was a very spur of the moment sort of trip, planned about a month or so in advance. It was a trip that, overall, was very bittersweet. It was an amazing vacation, but we were only able to go because of the money my grandmother left me after her passing. I still think she would’ve thought it a very good thing to spend it on, though.

The trip started out a little bumpy; with being held up in baggage/security at the first airport, my main suitcase being held up for two days once we got to Japan, and being forced to deal deal with only having the clothes I flew there with & such. But overall it was an absolutely wonderful trip & I am so glad we got to go back. I have EVERY intention of going at least one more time before my passport expires. There’s more we didn’t get to see & things I’d love to do again.

I also promised a photo dump post for you all once we got back to the States, but I’m not gonna lie. I procrastinated at first, but then forgot as time went on. That changes today!! I know it’s very, VERY late, but better late than never. Right?? I took a TON of photos, so I’m gonna break this up into a few posts that’ll put up over the next week or so.

(note: none of my photos have been edited, so some may be blurrier than others)

Enjoy!


We started off taking a couple different flights. From Detroit to Chicago; Chicago to Vancouver; Vancouver to Japan. It was my first time to the Vancouver Airport & it was sooooo nice!!

20160430_083812

20160430_083813

We flew in, as we always do, to Narita Airport in Japan. I highly recommend it if you get the chance to go to Japan. There’s a subway system that’ll take you right from the airport into Tokyo. Awful convenient!

20160501_151333

20160501_174432

This set of photos are some of my favourites, because these are from when we went to the Ghibli Museum!! I was so super excited & it was all so cute & so much fun & I am so so happy we got to go this time around. There was no photography allowed INSIDE the building, but we were allowed to take pictures OUTSIDE, so if you want the full experience, I highly recommend going. Whether you like Ghibli or not (tho if you don’t I may have to reevaluate our friendship).


The walkup/front of the Ghibli museum is so fucking cute, I had to take TONS of pictures. It looks straight out of an actual Ghibli film, which is such a perfect thing. They really thought of everything.

They had a little courtyard area that had some cute little plants and there was stained glass EVERYWHERE dipicting scenes from Ghibli films. I was able to get a picture of the one leading outside, with an image of Kiki & Jiji from Kiki’s Delivery Service! My absolute favourite Ghibli film.

 

There’s a little lunch area with a couple areas to buy food outside off the second floor. Hubby & I got ice cream & I also got a hot dog! Everything was delicious (though there was kraut on my dog that I had to remove before I could eat. I don’t like kraut lol)

There is totally an Robot Soldier statue from Castle in the Sky on the roof of the museum. It’s absolutely beautiful & the detail is ridiculous. On of my favourite parts.

The staircase to & from the roof was small but oh so cute.
THE AESTHETIC OF THIS PLACE, I SWEAR!!

MORE OUTSIDE PICS! That we were able to grab on our way out. Including the map of the grounds & how cute the gate even was!


And then we did some wandering!! It’s been a while, so I can’t remember exactly where we all went, but what I can remember I’ll be sure to specify!

Found ourselves on Takeshita Street. I love these little shopping districts. You can find a lot of these in Harajuku as well. With the CUTEST STORES. And way more crepe stands than I ever thought possible.

We found a cute little park area near a train station!! It has a tomb site of Shogi-Tai soldiers & a couple shrine-like buildings. This is the moment I really wish I remembered more. I should’ve taken notes! GAH!!

EDIT:: Hubby has informed me that the park was Ueno Park! Thanks babe ♡

This trip around we got to go up to the top of the Tokyo Sky Tree!! Which is both absolutely amazing & horribly terrifying. I have some serious acrophobia but I did it & I am so glad I did.

The last two up there (with the blue lighting) were from INSIDE THE ELEVATOR!! It was weird, being able to see outside as you ascend the tower. But so cool.


Excuse me, but we interrupt the seriousness to give you Things You Can Buy With Cats On Them photo spam (or at least one stores massive cat table):

20160502_210051


And then we made the long journey to see Mount Fuji & Aokigahara (the forest at the base of the mountain, aka the Sea of Trees)! It was all so absolutely beautiful. Worth every moment of planning. Another area I HIGHLY recommend visiting. The forest even has a couple caves that you can walk through!!

All those pics were from the Bat Cave we stumbled across! Then we hiked through Aokigahara on a few of the trails that run through it. Lemme tell you, it’s not easy. Since Mount Fuji is actually a volcano, all the soil is formed from volcanic rock. It is not easy to traverse, You basically have to constantly watch your step or it’s really easy to fall or twist or step on something! BE CAREFUL.

Also, people will tell you the forest is really dense & quiet. It was not for us. You can still see the sky & there were birds and wind sounds EVERYWHERE. Maybe we just weren’t in the right area. But boy, did we walk through a LOT of it.

We were able to visit one other cave; the Ice Cave!! They have silk worms in there.

20160503_120501

After the Ice Cave, we did a lot more hiking through the forest. We were going to do a third cave, but when we got to the entrance we realised that it was a vertical cave that involved climbing & we were way too exhausted for that. Soooooo we skipped it. Next time!


And that is where I’m going to leave this one! I plan on doing a second post at least with more photos from our trip! I spent a lot of time trying to decide how long to make these posts, if I’m being honest. I want to share so much of my trip with you guys, but I don’t want to overwhelm anyone or their feeds. I think I have tons of photos that could easily fill three posts at least.

So this is where I leave it up to you, dear readers! I’m definitely doing one more post of photos, would you guys be interested in one more? Should I just leave it here? Is two too many? Is three not enough? Please let me know!

I ultimately blog because I enjoy it, but I also want to do it at least a little for you all.
How much is too much??

7 thoughts on “My 2016 Japan Trip; Photo Post! (part 1)

  1. Everything looks so nice! I loved this post 😀
    The view from the elevator looks wonderful (but I would be so scared cos it’s see through ._.)
    Vancouver has such a pretty airport omg 😮

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I definitely didn’t realise you could see through the ceiling til it started moving & everyone around me were oooo-ing & ahhh-ing. It was a little vertigo inducing!! XD

      I wish I had gotten photos of Vancouver Airports food court. It was HUGE!! 😮

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Amazing post! 😀
    Japan is one of the places I really want to visit. And seeing your pictures only made me want to go there more. Hopefully I’ll be able to visit Japan some time in the future. In the meantime I shall wait for your next post to see more beautiful pictures of it! 🙂

    Like

  3. I want to visit so badly! Really i want to visit anywhere out of Aus I’ve never left the country 0.0 I remember looking at your snaps from Japan but it’s so cool to see your pics, can’t wait to see your next post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. If it wasn’t for the hubby, I’d never go anywhere, honestly lol Its expensive! Well…….this trip I paid for, but the circumstances that helped me afford it weren’t normal. But usually it’s a whole year of him saving up. Honestly, it takes a while to get it, but I highly recommend saving & planning a trip like this at least once!! And a lot of the big touristy areas of Japan are very English friendly, if you don’t know any/much Japanese. I already wanna go again, if I’m being honest. I always miss it, & I love their trees SO MUCH GAHHHH!!!!

      Seriously tho, I hope you get to travel one day. I know not everybody can though. Again, I wouldn’t on my own. But it’s definitely a wonderful experience.

      I’ll try to get the next photo dump post up in the next couple weeks! Before the end of April & our trip to Europe. But prolly don’t hold me to that cuz I am consistently inconsistent with content XD ♡♡

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

