blogging · Books

Do You Even Book Jump?

Hello, friends; allow me to introduce myself! I am Kai & I am a professional book jumper!

What is a book jumper, you may ask? Well, for me, it’s an individual who does exactly that: jumps from book to book. This can occur for many reasons! The individual is in a slump & is changing books regularly to find SOMETHING that can get them out of it. A person may get a few new books & can’t wait to start them, so goes ahead & reads a bit of a few, if not all, of them without finishing one they’ve already started. It can even happen when someone just can’t decide what they want to read because everything is just so tempting & so they jump around a little in all the ones that catch their eye.

Every single one of these have happened with me. I book jump regularly. When I’m in a slump, have gone on a book spree, just can’t settle! Lately I’ve been a little burnt out with life so I’ve been having problems sticking to just one book. My focus is lacking & I just can’t find the right story! (The new video games I’ve recently purchased aren’t helping either, tbh. So many games.)

The one thing that my friends & family always ask me with book jumping is this: How even do you keep the stories straight?!

Apparently, I’m the only one I know that has no issues keeping every book I’ve started separate from each other in my mind. My mother reads faster than I do, but she always marvels at how I can seem to have zero problems remembering which character & plot line goes with which novel I have going. My best friend Megan @ PitchBlackSky always just shakes her head & tells me that she could never have multiples going at once like that.

It honestly feels pretty cool? I’m not good at much, & there are better, faster readers than I, but I have this one gift that others are jealous of? High five me!

So today I’d like to share with you my ever growing list of books I am currently reading due to some serious book jumping. These are not in any particular order, but every one here is a book I’ve read at least one chapter in, but have definitely not finished yet.

Enjoy!


How to Hang a Witch by Adriana Mather
on page 10; Chapter 2
I love witchy books. I love books set in Salem. This one was a no-brainer to pick up! My copy is even signed by the author. Supa Fancy

House of Leaves by Mark Z Danielewski
on page 119
With how this articular book is written, the number of pages I’ve ACTUALLY read is larger than the page my bookmark rests on. This book is massive, & I’m still only about halfway through. It’s a weird novel about a weird house & obsession & it is quite the adventure.

King’s Cage by Victoria Aveyard
on page 248; Chapter 10
I am currently reading this one on my breaks at work. I was so excited for the 3rd installment in the Red Queen series that I preordered it but my mind just hasn’t been focused enough to finish this one just yet. Working on it though!

The Devil in the White City by Erik Larson
on page 28
Currently on Part 1 in the section titled “The Trouble is Just Begun.” I have a thing for serial killers & the story of H. H. Holmes is one of my morbid faves, so of course I had to at least START this one. Very well written, though I initially thought it was a fictional story set in the time of Holmes, but it’s not! It’s a non-fiction novel written in a story-ish format. Gotta get back to it one of these days!

Does My Head Look Big in This? by Randa Abdel-Fattah
on page 123; Chapter 14
This one seemed cute, about a Muslim girl deciding to wear hijab full-time in her sophomore year of high school (or the austrailian equivalent of that, anyway). I actually started this book for Diversathon as it’s an own voices novel & it started out very well, but I fell into a slump almost midway through. I’m not proud of it, but it happens.

The Wrong Side of Right by Jenn Marie Thorne
on page 93; Chapter 13
Seemed slightly appropriate for when I started it as it was election season & this one is about a girl finding out who her father is as he runs for president & she falls for his opponents son. It’s good times, in this one!

Dexter by Design by Jeff Lindsay
on page 178; Chapter 23
The forth book in the Dexter series. I didn’t enjoy the third as much as the first two, but I’m still very much interested enough to continue the series. I have all the books on my kindle.

A Delusion of Satan by Frances Hill
on page 53; Chapter 7
A nonfiction book about the Salem witch trials! I need more books like this. I also need to finish this one. I need to finish all of these!


And there it is!
So many books, so little focus.

Do you guys have a different name/word for book jumping?
Would book juggler be a better description?

Do you read multiple books at once?
Or are you someone who HAS to finish one book before you start another, no matter the circumstances?
Tell me everything!

11 thoughts on “Do You Even Book Jump?

  1. I actually wish I could book jump, at least a little! Reading for me is always associated with moods but I have this insane need, with every book I pick up, to either read it through or DNF it completely. There’s no in between for me because I feel that if I leave a book midway and jump onto another book, with the intention of returning to that book, I might never finish it. I always feel like that, and I wish I could book jump as frequently as some people do 😅

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have a problem with never wanting to dnf a book so I jump instead of that! There have been books I’ve put down & gone back to a year or more later and THEN finished. It’s like, I get around not being comfortable with dnf’ing (for myself) by convincing myself that *I’ll totally finish it later.* I might need to reevaluate my life XD

      Like

  2. Would “book-hopping” work too? 😂 I sometimes book jump, but I can only manage 2-3 books at a time. I definitely agree that it helps take off a reading slump, I also do it when one book I’m reading gets really intense and I need to take a break with something lighter to balance things out.

    But seriously, the amount of book you’re currently reading is impresive! You’re indeed a professional book jumper! 😉💙

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Book hopping is another great way to say it, yea!! Love it 😀

      That’s exactly what happened to me with house of leaves & I just haven’t been able to get back in the mood, cuz it’s such a complex, daunting novel.

      Don’t be too impressed! Since I have so many going at once I haven’t made much headway in any of them & am now 5 books behind schedule for my year goal XD No shame, though!!! ♡♡

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I don’t mind reading different books at the same time as long as they’re fairly different from each other. So I can read a novel, a poetry collection, and a non-fiction book. Or a YA novel and an adult novel. I just don’t like focusing on too many similar things at once cause I suck at multitasking. 😅

    Liked by 1 person

  4. YOU JUST DESCRIBED MY ENTIRE READING LIFE IN A POST!!!!!! THIS IS LITERALLY ME RN AND ALWAYS. I’ve lost count of the number of books I start at one time. I always try and read a chapter and see what grabs my attention, but sometimes nothing does so I keep picking up books lmao. I get sooo distracted sometimes I have to read more than one book at a time, but sometimes I won’t make it past 5 chapters of each book haha. How To Hang A Witch is actually one I tried out recently!! I really wanna read House of Leaves too. I have no excuse either now that I own a physical copy haha.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Omigawd TWINSIES!!!! It’s so funny just how common a practice it is! But how do you know what’ll pull you out of a slump if you don’t try every single book you own????

      House of Leaves is rough cuz it’s so big so I don’t blame you for not reading it yet. It is daunting! I had to take a break XD

      Like

  5. I read multiple books at once but always of different genres I cant read a fantasy and another fantasy because I’d get them confused or end up like one more then the other and dnf it xD I tend to limit and just read an audio book and physical book at a time, when I start picking up heaps of books coz I can’t settle on one I nearly always end up getting half way through and then just putting it aside.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

