Book Reviews

Crooked Kingdom Review

Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo
(Six of Crows #2)

22299763Synopsis (taken from GoodReads)
Kaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off a heist so daring even they didn’t think they’d survive. But instead of divvying up a fat reward, they’re right back to fighting for their lives. Double-crossed and left crippled by the kidnapping of a valuable team member, the crew is low on resources, allies, and hope. As powerful forces from around the world descend on Ketterdam to root out the secrets of the dangerous drug known as jurda parem, old rivals and new enemies emerge to challenge Kaz’s cunning and test the team’s fragile loyalties. A war will be waged on the city’s dark and twisting streets―a battle for revenge and redemption that will decide the fate of magic in the Grisha world.

My Rating:  5/5 Stars

stars

My Review:  Crooked Kingdom is the second and last book in the Six of Crows duology written by the wonderfully talented Leigh Bardugo. It follows our thieves on another adventure as they look for revenge on those that have done them all so very wrong! And I absolutely loved every single bit of it.

In fact, I actually liked Crooked Kingdom more than Six of Crows. And that’s saying something, cause I adored Six of Crows. I gave it a 4/5 stars (you can find my review here if you’d like to read it) and that’s not something to scoff at! Everything about this world that Bardugo has created is simply amazing to me. She has such a way with words, I love it.

The characters are so well written, the plot very well thought-out, & the world-building is phenomenal. I just can’t think of a single thing I disliked about this book. You believe in every character, they’re so real. You root for them, fear for them, cry for them. There is no shortage of feelings as you join them on their mission.

Every pairing develops at a believable pace, no relationship feels rushed or weird. They settle into each other as the story develops and they all grow into their own. The love, fights, hate, & all-out carnage is so detailed & addictive. I really had a hard time putting it down once I started. The whole thing just sucked me in with all the action & fast-paced writing. Even the villains you can’t help but want more of!

Since this is the second & last book in the Six of Crows duology, I don’t want to give too much of anything away, so finding ways to gush about this book without spoiling things is a little difficult, to be honest! If you enjoyed Six of Crows, its successor will not disappoint. Crooked Kingdom, in my opinion, is exactly how a sequel should be done. It takes what the first book laid out & builds upon it in all the right ways. They fit together so perfectly, I’m still in awe. I just want to jump right back in again as soon as I’ve finished it.

If you enjoy worlds you can get lost in, morally gray characters you can fall in love with, adventure, thievery, & revenge fantasies; then this is the right book, the right series, for you.

I just really wish this wasn’t the end. Maybe Bardugo will take us back into this world of thieves someday. I know I would definitely be alright with that.

4 thoughts on “Crooked Kingdom Review

  1. Great review! I agree with every point you made. This book was amazing and definitely one of the best sequels/finales out there! Hope to be able to return to the Grisha world someday and check in with these characters 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great review for this book. I absolutely loved the Six of Crows duology and Crooked Kingdom is actually my favourite read of 2016; there’s nothing bad I could say about this book except the fact that now it’s come to an end I can’t read about anymore adventures Kaz and his crew take on! I’m definitely holding out hope that Leigh Bardugo will write more in this world, until then I’ll have to settle for re-reading Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom again! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

