Book Tags

Winter Wonderland Book Tag

I was watching booktube last night & this particular tag game came up. I then logged on to WP & noticed that Milou @ Simply A Book Drunkard ALSO did this game today so it seemed like destiny. I decided to give it a go myself!

This one was created over on booktube by JackEatsLife a couple years ago (and it seems that he hasn’t actively posted in over a year, unfortunately).

Let’s jump in!


snowflakes


1. What book is so happy and sweet that it warms your heart?

I am Pusheen the Cat by Claire Belton. Because it’s Pusheen! The pictures are super adorable, & quite a few of the comics are ones everybody has seen online. How could it not warm a heart?

But if I had to pick a non-comic book, it’d probably be Just Listen by Sarah Dessen. I don’t read a TON of contemporaries, but this one is just so super cute & I love the characters so so much. If you haven’t read it, maybe you should!

Ya know, if you like that sort of thing.

2. What is your favorite book with a white cover?

Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon. It’s such a lovely story & the cover is GORGEOUS with the white base & SPLASH of bright colours, right on the front. It’s breathtaking.

3. You’re sitting in a nice big comfortable chair, sipping some hot chocolate. What MONSTER book are you reading?

I don’t have too many super big books on my shelves tbh. But I guess, if I had to choose, it’d probably be House of Leaves by Mark Z. Danielewski. I started that book months ago and still haven’t finished it. Because it is a monster of a book. It’s huge, it’s detailed, it’s really really weird. It can be hard work to read it. So being comfortable is key, here.

4. It’s started snowing so you decide to have a snowball fight! What fictional character would you love to have this snowball fight with?

Can I pick all of the Aglionby boys from The Raven Cycle? No? Then probably Ronan Lynch. ‘Cause CAN YOU IMAGINE?! Tough ass Ronan in a snowball fight, being silly? ‘Cause I can. At first he’d be all *ughh* but then he’d get all seriously into it, and it would be the best.

I am not wrong!!

5. Sadly, your fire is beginning to go out. So what book would you tear the last few chapters out to throw into the fire?

Honestly, I have to go with what most others have said here. I’d happily throw most of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child in the fire. I’d apologise, but I’m really not sorry. It basically threw out what the original books built up & I can not STAND time travel paradoxes, even when magic is involved. So, bye bye.

Or, alternatively, the end of I’m Thinking of Ending Things by Ian Reid. Not that it was bad per se, but it’s an ending that I am SICK TO DEATH OF SEEING EVERYWHERE ALL THE TIME & it made me personally feel like I got cheated.

Or all of Fates & Furies. Cause fuck that whole book.

6. What book is so close to your heart that you would gift to someone this Christmas who hasn’t read before but wants to get into reading?

The one that is currently closest to my heart is probably Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon, tbh. It’s so cute & such a fast read that I don’t see how anyone could not enjoy it at least a little bit. I’d also probably choose A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness because it hits so close to home for me, that it means a lot. But it’s pretty tear-inducing, so I don’t know if I’d recommend it to EVERYBODY. Except how I would. EMBRACE THE TEARS!

There are also a couple other books I think could be good gifts for people who don’t generally read but really want to start:

Harry Potter series by JK Rowling
(I don’t overly care for them, but it’s a perfect place to start!)

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
(such a cute book, seriously)

Every Day by David Levithan
(such a fast, well-written book, I don’t see how it couldn’t help someone get in the reading game!)

I just realised how many of those books are cutesy, contemporary-type love stories.

I am not sorry!!

snowflakes


Since I’ve moved down to Texas from Michigan, I’m in a less wintery wonderland than I’ve been used to in the past, so things like this are fun to remind me that it is, in fact, really winter.
Even if there is no snow out there!!

What are some of your favourite wintery books or winter tags?
Did you do this game too?
What’d you pick?

Leave a Reply

