blogging · Books

September Wrap-Up & October tbr!

It is finally October! The best month of the year! Time for horror movies, creepy books, changing leaves, costumes, parties, scares & treats. The fancy decorations, the pumpkin everything, black cats being extra spoopy… IT’S THE MOST WONDERFUL TIME OF THE YEAR!!! (No, December, you don’t get that award, I don’t care what the Christmas songs say!!)

September has came & left & brought with it some very nice books that helped me out of my slump!! I didn’t read EVERY book I had intended on reading, but I did read almost all of them & the ones that I did finish got read in like a week.

I’m taking that as a win!!!


Here’s the run down of what I finished, what I started, & what progress I made:

Finished:

If You Wrong Us by Dawn Klehr: 2.75/5 Stars
Ruthless by Carolyn Lee Adams: 4/5 Stars
Awake by Natasha Preston: 2.5/5 Stars
Escape From Asylum by Madeleine Roux: 3.5/5 Stars

There might be one book on my initial tbr that I didn’t read, but the total is still the same as planned! I just read Escape From Asylum instead of Stephen King. No biggie!

Started:

Full Dark, No Stars by Stephen King: page 254/364
Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo: page 270/536
*House of Leaves by Mark Z. Danielewski: page 97/709

*A Note about House of Leaves Progress: Yes, that page number is pretty low, but with how the book is laid out, I’ve actually read about 100 more pages than that number makes it seem. The page count doesn’t include the first 20 pages that are in Roman numerals as it is an introduction, but it’s an intro you HAVE to read. It is most certainly a part of the story. You get a lot of footnotes in this novel that send you to multiple different parts in the book. There are a few Appendixes towards the end with lots of content that you just HAVE to read & look at. So, even though it seems I haven’t made much progress, I’ve actually read a lot of this one. Still not that far through it, there’s so much left, but updating my progress on this one is something else entirely.

I was making great progress on Full Dark, No Stars but then Bardugo just HAD to release the sequel/ending to her Six of Crows duology. I mean, was I supposed to wait to start Crooked Kingdom? Answer = NO!

I meant to have No Stars finished by the end of September but  can you blame me? I can’t say no to reading about our beloved thieves. I’ll just have to make sure I finish these books before the Halloween Readathon starts next week!!

SPEAKING OF READATHONS:

That is basically what my TBR for the month of October is. It’s the few books I started last month plus the books I’ve chosen for the challenges in Wonderless Reviews’ Halloween Readathon that starts on the 10th! Which, by the way, if you haven’t signed up for yet, you probably totally should? It’s a chill 2 weeks of spoopy books & treats & just being a whole bunch of casual & cool. Who doesn’t like readathons like that? JOIN US!! Just click here to check out Lauren’s info post & to sign up!!

I’m gonna leave a link to my Halloween readathon overview (HERE!!) so you can check out my reasons & such for the books I’ve chosen, but this is the basic tbr run-down:

To Read In October:

Possessions by Nancy Holder
The Haunting of Sunshine Girl by Paige McKenzie & Alyssa B. Sheinmel
Twisted by Hannah Jayne
30 Days of Night by Steve Niles (Illustrated by Ben Templesmith)
Revenge by Yoko Ogawa
A currently unknown 6th book if I finish the above 5 before Halloween, will choose title at that time

That would make a total of 8 or 9 books read in a month if I can actually finish all these guys. And…that would be kind of amazing for me? I usually don’t read THAT much during a month!! I’m not a super slow reader exactly, but I’m not that fast so 3 to 5 is my usual books per month score.

October is definitely a very ambitious month for me. In a few days I fly back up to Michigan for a friends wedding & a new tattoo (of Umbreon because it’s the best Pokemon & I am obsessed), so I probably won’t get much reading done then, but all these books are horrors & thrillers which are my favourite genres. Maybe I’ll be ok.


I hope everyone had a great Spooptember & are ready to tackle the scary & fun month of Spooptober!
Are you as excited for Halloween as I am?
You better be!

5 thoughts on “September Wrap-Up & October tbr!

  1. You had a great reading month!! I really need to finish the Asylum series. They’re not the greatest books ever, but I’m such a sucker for all the photos 😅 I want to read House of Leaves too!! It looks like such a unique cpncept. So excited for you to be participating in the readathon too ♥♥

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!!! All I needed was a little horror to get me back in the game! So good.

      They’re kinda cheesy but kinda awesome & I adore that series so much. I also have kind of a big crush on Roux. She cosplays & plays games & she’s such a nerd….SWOON!!! ♡♡♡

      It is definitely an experience, that book.

      I am psyched for the readathon!! Imma finish these 2 books hopefully before I go on my mini vacation then I get to dive right into the readathon when I get home. I AM EXCITED 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ah Crooked Kingdom is amazing all the characters are just so fantastic XD Enjoy it!
    I added House of Leaves to my TBR the other day and wow does it looks epic, the photos of the pages are crazy. I could imagine how much you’ve actually read :’) You and a great month! I hope you love all your books this month and have an awesome Halloween 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m currently on chapter 19 of Crooked Kingdom and….just….omigawd it is SO INTENSE!!! I love this book & I haven’t even finished yet!!! I hope it ends well. I don’t want it to, but also I can’t wait to see how it all wraps up. Gahhhh, so good!

      HoL is a ride, man. Really XD

      Thank you!!! I hope I enjoy em all too. Or at least most of them! I love Halloween so so much. It’s the best. I hope you also have an awesome halloween!!! You have to, right??? 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Halloweens not that big here in Aus but hopefully I find a party and have fun there 😊

        Ah seriously it gets crazier 🙈 I haven’t even thought of reviewing it yet, to many things to think about and way to many feelings (I cried because I didn’t want it to end)

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

