blogging · Books

Bad Blogger Update

Oh man, have I been the worst at updating my blog. Lately I’ve had a very difficult time focusing on any physical books. I don’t know why, I don’t know how to push through it, but I can’t really call it a slump. It’s like I CAN read, but not for more than a few minutes at a time because my eyes & mind wander.

Or maybe that is a form of a reading slump. I am not an expert!!

But my lack of focus ability has seeped into the blogging & house work part of my life as well. Just a general….blah-ness. I think it’s tied to the hotter weather & impending cross-country move. Everything is crazy lately.

Even so, I wanted to take the time to do a small post to 1) Apologise for lack of content (please forgive me, y’all!) & 2) Possibly get myself back in the game with a little something!

So here we go.


My tbr for the month of June was mostly only 1 book:
Welcome to Night Vale by Joseph Fink & Jeffrey Cranor

But I was also hoping to finish The Raven King & Six of Crows.

Well, GUESS WHAT, GUYS!!

I finished both Welcome to Night Vale AND The Raven King, the review of which can be found HERE!! And since I’ve been having these concentration issues, I started the Six of Crows audiobook & am currently 42% of the way through. I just started Part 3. Things are kind of AWESOME. I am loving Kaz & Inej more than life itself!! The narrators are awesome, for the record.


I also started reading Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson during my breaks at work. They’re only 15 minutes each, but it’s a nice light read & a nice small amount of focus necessary. I think it might help my little “slump,” kind of ease myself back into it.

This week I bought 3 whole books off Amazon! I have the Amazon Rewards Visa card so I had about $20 in points saved up, so I only ended up spending $5 of my own money for:

The Raven Boys paperback by Maggie Stiefvater – I never owned a physical copy of it, so it’s nice to finally have the full collection! Now I have everything but The Raven King in paperback!

The Cresswell Plot by Eliza Wass – Obviously in hardcover. I’ve seen it A LOT recently around the book community & it sounds like it’s just the right amount of weird for me! I hope it’s good. I haven’t read really any reviews. Partly because I haven’t looked for them, mostly because I really haven’t been keeping up with any social media outside twitter, facebook, & some snapchat posts of my own.

The Butterfly Garden by Dot Hutchison – I am always down for a nice thriller. This one sounded good, it had good reveiws on GoodReads, & it was a good price so I had to! I hope I love it. I’m not sure when I’ll read it, but just having it makes me happy. If I get through the few books I don’t have packed before the movers reach our new apartment, I just might start this one!!


IMMA TRY TO GET BACK IN THIS GUYS, please don’t leave me. I swear, I’ll do better!!!

I might not be able to really get fully back into the blogging game this month, though. We’re moving July 31st & I have a LOT of people to hang out with before we leave throughout the month of July. My schedule is already more packed than usual. I don’t usually leave my house this often. My anxiety makes it difficult for me to handle lots of social interactions at a time. It’s usually very draining. Maybe that’s some of the problem.

But hopefully I can at least get a few posts up. I still have TONS of tags to catch up on, Japan pictures I owe y’all, & I may even post a couple posts about our move when it happens.

I will DEFINITELY be posting shelf organisation photos/posts here & on my bookstagram once we get to Austin. All my books except a couple are all packed up & my shelves are bare & it’s EMOTIONAL. I can’t wait to set them all up in our new apartment. So look forward to that!!


So I think that’s it. Thank you all for your patience with me. I’m sorry about this impromptu hiatus of mine. Hopefully I’ll have a more steady online presence once we’re settled in our new home.

7 thoughts on “Bad Blogger Update

  1. I totally get you! I think I’m also in a some kind of reading and blogging slump, and I blame school for it! I can’t seem to read these past few weeks, and whenever I attempt to, I just stop after 5 pages. And I’ve also been a bad blogger, sigh. Hope we’ll both get back on track soon!! Good luck to us. ๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ’™

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ughh this is the worst! I’m sorry you’re dealing with it too but I’m also so happy I’m not alone in this!!

      I’m SURE we’ll get out of our funk. Hopefully sooner rather than later. Hahaaa!!! WE CAN DO IT!!! ๐Ÿ”ฅ๐Ÿ”ฅ

      Like

  2. I feel you with the blogging thing. I’ve fallen SO behind. Yay for completing your TBR though and for managing to fit in some extra current reads! I really want to read The Creswell Plot and The Butterfly Garden. I hope everything goes well with the move โ™ฅ

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think I should just stick with baby TBR’s every month from now on. Pick just 1 or 2 books so I have a higher chance if success AND anything extra will make me feel super accomplished.

      And thank you!!! Hubby has half the house packed already, so at least there’s that. Man, I’m terrified ๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜…

      Like

  3. I feel you too with the lack of concentration. I’ve been off and on on my blog and can’t really find the concentration to write and let alone read * whoops* But don’t worry ๐Ÿ™‚ I won’t leave.

    *will wait in my corner for new updates*

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I wonder if it’s the season??? Apparently there are a lot of us having this problem right now!! At least we have each other.

      I’ll wait for you, too!! I mean, if I’m not keeping up like I should, then I’ll prolly just FORGET to leave anyway, yea? Not that I want to, of course!!

      Might need to look into setting aside a specific time every few days at least to scroll through my reader to read everybody else’s posts, if nothing else. Ease my way back into it, a little bit at a time. Could be a good idea!!

      I’ll make sure to leave snacks in your corner just in case it takes me awhile. That way you don’t starve :3

      Like

Leave a Reply

