blogging · Book Reviews · Books

May Wrap-Up & Mini June TBR

I actually read almost all of the books that I wanted to read in May. And that’s kind of amazing! GO ME!! I’ve spent more time listening to podcasts & playing video games this month than reading overall, but I’m still ahead of the game with my reading challenge of 50 for the year, so I’m not beating myself up about it. I guess smaller TBR’s work in my favour. I’m remembering that for June.


A big thing happened recently in my personal life as well, that will affect my reading/blogging/anything that’s not sleeping for at least a month or so. And that thing?

Approval to move cross-country to Austin, Texas!!!

We found an apartment, told our bosses, I’m getting transferred, he’ll get to work from home, & in the last week of July it’s Good-bye Michigan & Hello Texas!!!

I am excited & terrified of this new chapter in my life. I just have to keep reminding myself that, if it absolutely sucks, we can always move back. We will always have a home here.

Here’s what book stuff went down in May!


Started:

The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater – Page 184/41% done
I got to go to her book signing at my local Barnes & Noble so, even though it wasn’t planned, I HAD to at least start this one in May. How could I not???


Finished:

This Song Will Save Your Life by Leila Sales3.5 Stars
It doesn’t start off very great, but it gets sooo much better when Elise discovers dj-ing. Then it’s awesome through the rest, with a nice ending that I enjoyed.

Yellow Brick War by Danielle Page – 3.5 Stars
I liked this one, but I like the first two books in this series a whole lot more. I’m not entirely sure what was missing for me, but it didn’t seem as…..exciting? We did get a new enemy, old enemies becoming allies (kind of), more fighting, & more reasons to ship Nox & Amy together, though.

Overall, a good addition to the Dorothy Must Die family. Bring on the 4th book!!!

Harry Potter & the Sorcerer’s Stone by JK Rowling 3.5 Stars
This was my first reread of the 1st HP book ever, & it was for the small book club I’m in. It was our book for May!!

Overall, it’s not that revolutionary or new of a story (even in the 90s when it first came out) & it’s not the greatest written book in the world (it’s a first novel, so that’s not that big a deal). But it is definitely fun & easy to get lost in.

I liked it loads better when I was younger, but overall my tastes have changed ever so slightly when it comes to fantasy-type novels. There will always be a nostalgia with these. They weren’t the books that got me into reading. They were never my absolute favourite books, but they were wonderful reads during my childhood. That alone makes it special.

Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater5 Stars
WHAT IS THAT ENDING??? OMIGAWD

I chose binge-reading over sleep the day I read this, but it was oh so worth it. This book was everything & more & I felt everything.

Adam is becoming more of himself, & it’s wonderful to see. I can’t wait to see how everything ties up in The Raven King. But I also can, because I just don’t want it to end!!

Such a Pretty Girl by Laura Wiess 4 Stars
I have a really hard time reviewing books like this. On one hand, it is about a very VERY tough subject, so saying this book is good is…..difficult. On the other, it’s also VERY well written & so easy to fly through that that’s all I want to call it. A good book.

You feel EVERYTHING for Meredith. You root for her & for Andy. You feel her pain, her anger, her helplessness. You cheer her on as the story progresses.

It can be a little upsetting at times due to the subject matter, but I feel that Wiess did a very good job at portraying things. You can tell that she really did her research and took care to write this book.

I read this book in a couple hours during a 9 hour flight from Japan to Calgary. I have a hard time saying I enjoyed it.

But I did.

Leftovers by Laura Wiess – 2.5~3 Stars
It wasn’t terrible, but it wasn’t nearly as good as the last book I read by Wiess. The narration/writing style was sometimes hard to follow & took a while to get used to, but it did get easier to read after a little bit. I still didn’t care for it though. Even after getting used to the flow, it still felt weird & disconnected.

The end is also….not great. Like, what they did isn’t exactly what you’d expect, & it really is cruel. They go from being legit victims of life into exactly the type of people that had hurt them in the first place. And after the BIG REVEAL, there’s nothing. Nothing else. No aftermath, resolution, explanation into what happens to them or anything. It just….ends. Definitely the opposite of satisfying.

So I give this one 2.5-3 stars. It’s got a lot of bad in it, but it’s still a pretty easy book to lose yourself in & it’s relatively short. You definitely do feel for these girls & the circumstances they’re being raised in, but it doesn’t excuse what they did. Not even a little bit.

I wouldn’t recommend this book to younger teens, it’s got a lot of drugs/alcohol, sexual encounters, & stuff like that. So definitely something to think about before diving in. It’s not a fluffy read. It’s a little dark. But it’s not completely awful. So read at your own risk!!

City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare – 4 Stars
Guys, I loved this book. I think it might be my favourite in The Mortal Instruments. It’s just….so good.

I want to try & get a legit, full review of this one within the next week. I’m really busy in my home life right now, so it’s taking longer for everything that I’ve meant to do, but hopefully I can at least get this up!!


My TBR for June is going to be very very small.

The podcast I’ve been listening to at work, almost nonstop the past week, is
Welcome To Night Vale
I don’t know how many of you have heard of this small little podcast, but it is amazing. And they released a novel last year. And I bought it not too long after its release, but I had only listened to somewhere between 7 & 10 episodes, so I didn’t feel like I could read it just yet. I didn’t want to spoil anything or…ya know, whatever, before getting to it in the podcast. So I put it off.

NOT ANY MORE!!

I am currently on episode 61 out of a current 89 episodes, and I feel that I am now qualified in reading this book! So I’m going to. My June TBR is going to consist of the Welcome to Night Vale novel, The Raven King, & Six of Crows! Hopefully I’m actually able to read SOC this time…

13258892_173977443000410_394373987_n.jpg

17 thoughts on “May Wrap-Up & Mini June TBR

  1. Ahh, good luck with the move! I hope everything goes smoothly and the way you want it to! You had an amazing reading month!! THE ENDING TO BLUE LILY STILL GETS ME. I really need to catch up on Night Vale too. I loved it so much and I really want to read the book.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!! We’ll see. I’m worried mostly bout how our cats are gonna do. We’re hiring a moving company for our stuff & they do EVERYTHING, so at least that should go just fine.

      CAN YOU BELIEVE I READ ALMOST MY WHOLE TBR??? it’s crazy cause I didn’t think I would XD that entire book was ridiculous. AND WHO SHOWED UP AT THE END JUST OMFG WHAT???????

      catch up catch up catch up!!!! I’m almost all caught up. But then they release new episodes & I have to scream to the heavens cause they keep piling up XD

      Like

      1. Aw!! I hope everything goes okay with them ❤️

        That is definitely an accomplishment 🙌🏻 I don’t think I have even close to completing my TBR 😅

        Once things (hopefully) chill out irl I will defs dedicate a day to catching up!!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Yay for good reading months!! Also yay for the WTNV novel 🙂 I got it as an audiobook and it was like listening to more of the podcasts.

    AND – welcome to Austin (in a couple of months)! That’s sort of the worst time to be here, weather wise. But! It’s a pretty rockin’ place overall.

    Oh man, if you were here a couple weeks earlier you could go to the live show of WTNV in San Antonio!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I want the audiobook!! Imma get it this month as my “free” one from audible. I’m so excited.

      Thank you!! We didn’t have much choice on time, though. This was when our current lease was up hahaa!! At least if we start in the hottest most stormy time of Texas then it can only get better, right???? 😀

      I ALWAYS MISS THE COOL STUFF OMG

      Like

  3. Awesome about the move. Good luck with it! 🙂
    That’s awesome that you read almost all the books that you wanted to read in May. I suck at sticking to TBRs, so I always end up reading books completely different than what I chose for the month lol.
    Yellow Brick War was good, but I wasn’t completely blown away by it. It seemed kind of rushed too. I’m curious to see how the next book will go though.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much!! I’m terrified. I’ve never moved so far. Idk how imma do being so far from my mom XD I’ve been adult for a few years now but I’ve always been within an hour from home. Kinda worried lol

      This was my 2nd month really trying a tbr. I’m not doing too bad, overall!! I think it could be a practice thing. We’ll see what happens this month, though lol

      I’m glad I’m not the only one who felt that way bout YBW! ♡♡

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Good luck with the move! I finished the Raven Boys this month and I’m about halfway through The Dream Thieves. This series is awesome! I’m completely in love with the characters lol. I’ve heard amazing things about Six of Crows.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The Dream Thieves is my favourite so far. Ronan is the best & I love his interactions with Kavinsky in that one. SO GOOD!!!!

      Everyone I know had read SOC & loved it. I’m hoping it lives up to the hype!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Good luck with your move I’m sure it will be awesome 🙂

    Great reading month so many good books XD Blue Lily Lily Blue made me regret reading the series before The Raven King was out, you are definitely smarter then me XD
    I love TMI but wait until you read TID its so good can’t wait to see what you think of it.
    YES to Six of Crows I hope you enjoy it I think its one of my favorites and definitely one of the best Multiple POV’s I’ve read.

    Like

  6. City of Heavenly Fire was definitely my favorite too!! So glad you read it! The Infernal Devices were so much better. Have you read those yet?
    I just started the Raven Boys and I’m so excited to see where it goes!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

