blogging · Books

2nd Annual National Readathon Day

Tomorrow, May 21st 2016, is National Readathon day!

What, may you ask, is National Readathon Day? Well, allow me to grab their information STRAIGHT from the internet!!


Join Penguin Random House, the American Library Association, and fellow readers across the country for the second annual National Readathon Day on Saturday, May 21, 2016. Celebrate the joy of reading and giving during #Readathon2016 by raising funds while joining fellow readers for a day of reading. Funds raised during #Readathon2016 will benefit the Every Child Ready to Read initiative, a program that supports the early literacy development of children in libraries across the nation. Get started and join in by clicking here.


Last year, I participated in the first annual Readathon Day & raised just over $300! I feel that it is an absolutely wonderful & oh so important event. All funds raised go into programs that help promote literacy & getting books into the hands of underserved communities in the United States. This year, there was no fundraising, but I DID donate to the cause. A cause I strongly believe in.

The American Library Association will be taking donations until May 31st over on their fundraising page. Currently they’ve only raised about $1200, which is kind of sad because last year around $100,000 was raised for National Readathon Day. I don’t know if it’s because this year it’s being run by ALA while last year is was the National Book Foundation, but it definitely wasn’t as talked about as it was last year. I only JUST found out about it the other day. But every penny counts! So it might be a small amount, but it’s so much better than nothing.

I have every intention of reading ALL DAY tomorrow for this. I have my books picked out & everything. Up on the official Readathon Day site they have tips on throwing Readathon parties & what libraries are participating with in-person events & fun things! There’s an official hashtag for social media & everything. It’s great, even if it is flying under the radar this year.


Here are the 2 books that I have chosen to binge read!!

  • 2343715617378527The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater
  • Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

They’re both already on my immediate TBR this month, & this is the PERFECT opportunity to see if I can read them both in one day. I work until 4am, so I’ll get somewhat of a late start, but if I can read from 12pm at the earliest until midnight, I don’t see why I can’t finish one and at least start the other!


I’ve been known to get easily distracted when trying to do readathons, so this year I am trying to plan accordingly to help minimise brain wanderings. Are there any tips or tricks you guys have learned that help YOU stay focused during a readathon? Please share them with me. I can use all the help I can get!


Have any of you guys heard about this?
Did you participate last year?
This year?
If you are, what books do you have picked out for tomorrow?


If you haven’t, and would like to, feel free to click on one of the photos below to go to their fundraising page & make a donation or to share the event with the people you know to help spread the word!!

477998250204656667555_orig

One thought on “2nd Annual National Readathon Day

  1. Ooh I had no idea this was even a thing. I’ll definitely have to try and read something today! And it’s so awesome that you’ve helped raised money!

    Have fun with The Raven King!!! I can’t wait to hear what you think 😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

