blogging · Book Reviews · Books · Reviews

Vacation Reading

Pretty sure everyone knows by now, but last week my husband & I took a trip to Japan & it was wonderful! And a trip to Japan means airplane travel. And airplane travel means:

READING TIME!!


Now, I didn’t get much reading done on any of our flights, but in between lots of naps I did manage a little bit.

I started & finished one book while making progress in a couple others. And today I am going to tell you all about them!

So, without further ado, here we go!


Finished
162086Such a Pretty Girl by Laura Wiess
My rating: 4/5 Stars
My Mini-Review:  I have a really hard time reviewing books like this. On one hand, it is about a very VERY tough subject, so saying this book is good is…..difficult. On the other, it’s also VERY well written & so easy to fly through that that’s all I want to call it. A good book.

You feel EVERYTHING for Meredith. You root for her & for Andy. You feel her pain, her anger, her helplessness. You cheer her on as the story progresses.

It can be a little upsetting at times due to the subject matter, but I feel that Wiess did a very good job at portraying things. You can tell that she really did her research and took care to write this book.

I read this book in a couple hours. I have a hard time saying I enjoyed it.

But I did.


Progress
768192Leftovers by Laura Wiess
On Kindle:  19%
So Far:  I’m not sure I’m enjoying this one as much as the last Wiess book I read. The writing style is a little different & it keeps jumping between 2 narrators & it’s…odd. I’m hoping it’s just a learning curve & I’ll get used to it as it continues.

15777621This Song Will Save Your Life by Leila Sales
On Kindle:  49%
So Far:  The beginning of this book is not very good in my opinion. But it gets sooo much better once Elise starts getting into DJ-ing. Like infinitely so. Her character becomes less irritating & more likeable & things get exciting. I’m enjoying it, now.

Yellow Brick 3Yellow Brick War by Danielle Paige
Hardcover:  Page 198
So Far:  The third full book in the Dorothy Must Die series.
And a nice addition, I think!
Including cover-wise. I love the covers for these books.
They’re so damn pretty!!

LOOK AT THEM!!!!

Some exciting things have happened, some fighting & magic & such. Some old enemies seen again. Making some possible new ones. Shipping Amy & Nox so hard it hurts. Ya know. Normal everyday happenings in Oz.

If my exhaustion doesn’t keep me sleeping all week, I’m hoping to at least finish this one.


And that’s all I got!!

Pretty good, I think, for someone who slept most of the time during the traveling days of our trip. I’m glad I was able to get some reading done. It’s a positive when it comes to international travel.

You get a lot of time to kill.

2 thoughts on “Vacation Reading

Leave a Reply

