Book Tags · Books

The Pixar Book Tag

Man, I am behind on tag games!! So, this week, imma try to catch up!

We’re gonna start with the Pixar Book Tag! I’d like to thank Leanne at nevertrustabooknerd for tagging me in this one! I’m sorry it took so long to get to. I am awful at this, apparently.

Initially created by Chasing Faerytales, these are some great questions inspired by Pixar movies but in relation to the books we read!

Let’s begin!!


 

pixar 1

poster-xlargeAh man, I think I would have to go with Brave. It’s just such a cute movie! It used to be Toy Story but…..I just don’t really care for those anymore. Not sure why.

But Brave has such a nice story & wonderful characters. I also have a small crush on Kelly Macdonald.

She has the greatest voice, ya know?
And she’s so good in Boardwalk Empire!


 

Pixar 2

No brainer

24337Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine

This was THE BOOK that made me a reader. Like, really. I had always enjoyed reading, but in 4th grade, my teacher gave me a copy of it & I fell completely in love. It has a very special place in my heart. Which also means that, when I heard the news it was going to be a movie, I was so excited. And then ridiculously disappointed when I watched it. The movie missed the ENTIRE POINT OF THE NOVEL.

Ella spends so much of the novel fighting against the “gift” she was given. Trying to see how long she can go before the sickness & weakness gets to be too much, & she ends up having to obey. It’s a novel of strength & love & self-discovery as Ella searches for the fairy godmother who gave her this curse, determined to have it removed once & for all.

These things seemed to be completely missed in the movie, & it really made me sad.


 

Pixar 3

This one’s a little tough

I honestly can’t think of one. Like, there are books that I KNOW are similar to other books, but I haven’t read the books they’re similar to, so I dunno if I can actually count them?

There’s Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard (I loved this book) which is a little too similar to Red Rising by Pierce Brown, going just off the novel description.

Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, which I’ve never read but have seen the movies (sorry not sorry), is a LOT like Battle Royale by Koushun Takami, but not as violent & terrifying. Seriously, Battle Royale is a fucking roller coaster of a novel & there is a LOT going on. Gruesome & very upsetting. I loved it.

So, either of those, I guess? Still not sure if that’s a good answer or not though.


pixar 4

Glass Sword CSPOILER ALERT FOR RED QUEEN & GLASS SWORD, Y’ALL!!!
IF YOU HAVE NOT READ THEM,
KNOW THAT THIS IS A CHARACTER FROM THEM.
PLEASE SKIP IF YOU DON’T
WANT SOMETHING RUINED!!!

If you’ve finished Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard, then you probably know who I’m talking about. And I can’t help it! Even during Glass Sword I just could NOT completely hate the villain! There’s….just something about him? It’s a weird mixed feeling.

Damn it, Maven! I should hate you! You’re an awful person!

Why oh why do I love you so much??


pixar 5

I personally really really enjoyed the relationship between Hazel Grace & her parents in The Fault In Our Stars by John Green. So I’m gonna pick them! They were very supportive of their daughter & worked so hard through everything. I can’t even imagine what it must be like to have a child with cancer, how absolutely devastating that must be. But with the way the book is written, they seemed pretty realistic overall. I could believe it.


pixar 6

17675462Another spoiler alert!
For The Raven Boys this time.
Just……I’m sorry.

Guys, I of course HAVE to choose my favourite character like, ever. And I’m not entirely sure it’s a legit superpower, but I’m counting it anyway!

I wish I could take things from my dreams like Ronan can. There are so many things I could think of that I’d love to bring to the real world. But I sure hope that power would come with the ability to properly dream lucidly. Cause I currently can not do that! hahaaa


pixar 7

The obvious answer is probably Paper Towns by John Green.

There’s also Hello, Goodbye, & Everything in Between by Jennifer E. Smith where they do a day long road trip around their city.

But I kind of want to pick The Murmurings by Carly Ann West. At some point the 2 main characters take a day trip up to a mental health facility to look for answers to what the MC Shophie is going through. And they (mostly she) take the trip a few times.

I really liked this book. It was creepy.


pixar 8

How exactly would one describe a sidekick?
Can we count best friends?
They probably count. I don’t know.

11569419But I’m picking Tod Hudson from The Soul Screamers series by Rachel Vincent!!

He’s Nash’s brother, & the amount of times he’s used his reaper powers to get him & Kaylee places, find things out, be a sassy bastard are numerous. I adore him.

I really have to catch up on these books. I have all the ones up to Before I Wake (the 6th book) but have only read up to My Soul to Steal (the 4th) including the first prequel novella.


pixar 9

I don’t read a TON of dystopians so, this one’s easy.

It’s gonna be the Divergent series by Veronica Roth.


pixar 10

I don’t know if I’d use the word beautiful, but (and you guys can’t make fun of me for this one!) I love the entirety of the Three Sisters Island trilogy by Nora Roberts. Especially the love between Sam & Mia in the 3rd book, Face the Fire. Though it’s hard for me to pick which couple I enjoy the most, cause I love Ripley & Mac. Mac is just a big geeky teddy bear, & he’s adorable.

I feel no shame in loving adult romance novels! I don’t read them often, but when I do, there are usually some sort of paranormal things going on. Witches, vampires, etc.


 

pixar 11

20898019I have to go with a graphic novel for this one.

Kamala Khan from Ms. Marvel!!

She’s just a normal geek girl that falls into a kick-ass superhero role & I love it. I love the art, the humour, Kamala’s attitude & fierce loyalty for her friends & the strong love she has for her family.

She really comes into her own as the series continues & I can’t wait to see where it goes!!


pixar 12

This is between 3.

The Martian by Andy Weir
It made me laugh, about cry, feel frustrated & worried & just about every emotion ever. Even confused. Cause, ya know, science terms go way over my head. haha!

Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon
This is one of the sweetest books I’ve read in a while. That twist ending got me, not gonna lie. The love story was absolutely adorable & there were quite a few times where I about cried. I absolutely adore this book. If you haven’t read it, I must recommend that you change that!!

Made You Up by Francesca Zappia
This novel deals with a girl with schizophrenia just trying to adapt to public school. It really hits the nail on the head in regards to how it portrays mental illness. A book with a twist I prayed wasn’t going to happen, but did, & left me hurting for Alex. It was an emotional roller coaster of a debut novel & it was seriously one of my top reads of 2015.

You know what all three of these books have in common?
Gorgeous covers


 

And there you have it, folks! 

Is there anything you agree on?
Disagree?
Have you read some of these and wanna talk about them?
Leave a comment & let me know!!

(Especially if you’ve read Made You Up cause I adore that book but nobody else I know has read it.)

 

Leave a Reply

