blogging · Books

Mega March Book Haul!

I promised a book haul, AND HERE IT IS!! Now, I’m not going to include the ebooks I got. This is going to be a strictly physical books haul. I know March isn’t over yet, but I’m gonna try REALLY hard not to buy ANY books for the next 2 weeks. I have enough already, let’s be honest. I mean, this is a pretty HUGE haul so…. Hopefully I can go 2 weeks. Just gotta not leave my house…..Yea, imma need lots of luck for this one!!

Anyway, here are the books I’ve purchased this month!

 

25330544
Arrrrgh!!

Book:  The Only Pirate At The Party
Written by:   Lindsey Stirling & Brooke S. Passey

I love Lindsey Stirling. Her music is phenomenal. She’s a super nerd. Her dance moves make me jealous. And she is AMAZING live! So when I heard she was releasing a biography, I needed it.

(2 non-fiction books in one year?? Well, well, Kai. Look at you. Out of the norm. Good job. Branch out!!) I can’t wait to read this. I’m starting it today. AND THE COVER IS SO CUTE!! Perfect colour choice, I think. It’s gonna be awesome. I just know it.

 

Awake Sunshine
Pretty Pretty

Book:  The Awakening of Sunshine Girl
Written by:  Paige McKenzie & Alyssa B. Sheinmel

I. Love. Sunshine Girl on YouTube. LOVE! I have a thing for spooky things, & I follow a lot of those spooky channels & sites online (hello CreepyPasta & The Marble Hornets!!) When I found Paige’s channel, I fell in love. I also love the fact that she was able to do the project with her mother. Idk if I would have been able to convince my mom to help with something like that. Huge props!!

So when I found out it was becoming a book series, I HAD TO READ IT. I bought the 1st book (The Haunting of Sunshine Girl) right when it came out, just like I did with this, the 2nd book. But I have a confession to make. I still haven’t actually read THOSG yet. Didn’t stop me from buying this one, though. I’M AWFUL!! I am not a role model. Don’t do what I do. Save yourselves!

 

DeadTossed
Water Naps FTW

Book:  The Dead-Tossed Waves
Written by:  Carrie Ryan

This is the 2nd book in the Forest of Hands and Teeth series. I didn’t LOVE The Forest of Hands & Teeth, but I certainly didn’t hate it. It got better as it went on. I liked it enough that, when I saw TDTW at Books-a-Million (after forever of looking for it at the book swap I went to Saturday) I decided to take it home. I really like this cover. I have strong cover-lust. Not gonna lie here. I don’t JUDGE books by their cover, but extra points if your book has a pretty one.

 

DreamHouse
Dangerous Stairs

Book:  Dream House
Written by:  Valerie Laken

Another spooky novel!! I love the horror genre. Books, movies, video games. It’s my fave. This one is an adult horror/thriller novel. I usually gravitate towards YA overall, but when it comes to horror, I’m drawn a little more towards the adult section. I think there are some great YA horror out there, but sometimes it feels so underutilised. I have been seeing more & more YA horror as time goes on, though. It’s wonderful!! ALL THE HORROR PLEASE!!

This one’s about a couple families, a gruesome murder, a house with a past!!! It sounds wonderful. I hope I love it. I really wanna love it! Also, one big selling point for this one is that it takes place in Ann Arbor, Michigan. It’s not my hometown, but it is my home state! Extra points for you, Laken. You might not live here anymore, but you still get points for your ties to A2 & UofM. GO BLUE!

 

Iodine
Smoke & Minds

Book:  Iodine
Written by:  Haven Kimmel

If you’ve read my review of My Heart & Other Black Holes you’ll know that I like reading fictional books involving mental illness. When you can’t escape your own mind, it can be really comforting to know you’re not alone, even if that comfort comes in the form of a fictional character & what they’re going through. Sometimes, it can be very triggering to read something similar to what you, yourself, are experiencing in your own life. I don’t usually have that problem, myself. Though I do feel very strongly when I’m reading books like that.

That being said, Iodine is an adult contemporary novel following a young woman named Trace Pennington & her life after an abusive childhood & how the trauma affects her in her life since. How she copes, how she recovers, how she lives. There seems to be some very dark themes in this one. I might read it sooner rather than later.

 

Witchstruck
Colours & Castles!

Book:  Witchstruck
Written by:  Victoria Lam

I bought this one, like many others here, at the book swap I went to on Saturday. And like many others, the cover drew me in. Look at all those pretty colours! And any book involving witches is totally right up my alley. This one’s a little more historical fiction than what I usually read, but it sounded good. It’s set in 1554 England. There’s a palace, a banished princess, and witchcraft!! SIGN ME UP.

It’s the first in a trilogy & if I enjoy it, I’m totally gonna buy the rest as soon as I can.

 

nightlight
omnomnom

Book:  Nightlight: A Parody
Written by:  The Harvard Lampoon

I read all the Twilight novels.
I enjoyed all the Twilight novels
(save for the end of Breaking Dawn. I mean, it was a nice ending & I didn’t hate it but….I expected more, different, & it fell a little flat for me).
I watched all the movies & enjoyed those too.
(KStew is my fave. Love her.)

This is obviously a Twilight parody. Read a few sentences & had to buy it. Hopefully it’s as funny as I’m hoping it is. The little that I skimmed seemed fun. It’s short & will probably be a quick read.

 

PossessTril
So Spoopy

Books:  Possessions Trilogy
Written by:  Nancy Holder

I bought The Screaming Season at the book swap, realised it was the third in a series, went to Amazon to buy the first two; Possessions & The Evil Within. I hate it when that happens. Glad I realised it before getting halfway through the book or something!

They follow Lindsay at Marlwood Academy for Girls as she deals with mean girls, evil spirits, & possessions!! These are the things I live for.

 

Closedx
Blue Blue Blue

Book:  Closed for the Season
Written by:  Mary Downing Hahn

This is a children’s book, & I am not ashamed to say that I do not mind reading books meant for people waaaayyyy younger than me. I initially picked this up because it sounded spooky, but after a little more research into reviews online, it seems like it’s a lot more mystery than horror. Which is alright by me! It’s probably a little more creepy for the kids it’s meant for, but I haven’t read it yet, so I guess we’ll have to see!! It’s got a closed down amusement park & a murder that happened in the house one of the boys just moved in to. Should be fun!

 

Midnight Bites
EXCITE!!

Book:   Midnight Bites
Written by:  Rachel Caine

I DID NOT KNOW THAT THIS WAS BEING WRITTEN AND I AM SO HAPPY.

The Morganville Vampires series is my favourite vampire series OF ALL TIME. I thought Daylighters was going to be the absolute end of the series. I AM SO GLAD I WAS WRONG. I didn’t know this was going to be a thing until I saw it at Books-a-Million on Saturday. I about screamed when I saw it, but caught myself just in time, so the only sound I made was a quiet little squeak.

This is a collection of 6 new stories set in Morganville, Texas featuring some of our favourite residents!! I don’t know if there will be any about Claire & Shane or if we’ll have some about Myrnin or Oliver or Monica. Maybe they’ll be around but we’ll focus a little more on others? I don’t know, but that doesn’t make me any less excited! So happy there’s more Moganville to visit.

 

Yellow Brick 3
HYPE HYPE HYPE

Book:  Yellow Brick War
Written by:  Danielle Paige

It’s here, y’all!!
Yellow Brick War!
The third book in the Dorothy Must Die series.
It has been released!

I love this series. I am a fan of Paige’s writing style & her vision for Oz. We’re back with Amy Gumm & the Revolutionary Order of the Wicked to take Dorothy down, once & for all!! It’s time to save Kansas & bring balance back to Oz. GET HYPE!

 

 

Rookskill Castle
Crows for days

Book:  The Charmed Children of Rookskill Castle
Written by:  Janet Fox

Another children’s book with a spooky premise and a mystery to solve! The castle is being used as a boarding school in Scotland, & there are hints that a spy is around, & sinister magic is afoot! Kids start disappearing and a group of them have to figure out what’s going on before it’s too late!

It honestly sounds fun. There might be a little too much going on, but it’s hard to know for sure without reading it first. The cover is wonderful. It gives a nice air of creepiness & mystery. And you can’t tell from the picture, but it’s really soft. Seriously, it feels really nice holding it.

 

Drowned
I love this cover

Book:  The First Time She Drowned
Written by:  Kerry Kletter

And last, but not least, we have The First Time She Drowned by Kerry Kletter!

This is another novel centred around a girl dealing with mental illness & family issues. Cassie O’Malley was institutionalised when she was young, & this story follows her attempts to reclaim her life after turning 18 & finally being free to choose her own life.

This is a new YA contemporary that was just released & is already getting very high reviews. A beautiful cover & a story that I’m sure will, more than likely, break my heart & make me cry. This was a random find at Books-a-Million that was just laying on a cart. I’m thinking I was meant to find it.

 

So, there we have it. My Mega March Book Haul!!! And man, is that a lot of books. This is gonna take some maneuvering of my shelves to make them all fit. There might be some sideways stacking going on. I’m glad my lamps have little shelves on them. Cause I’m gonna utilise them!!

Are there any here that you’ve read, yourselves? Any thoughts? Let me know!! I’d love to see what others think of the books I buy for myself. Helps me choose what I’m gonna read first….if I’m ever able to make it to them. Pretty sure I’m going to die under an avalanche of unread books.

But what a way to go.

7 thoughts on “Mega March Book Haul!

Leave a Reply

