Book Reviews · Reviews

Glass Sword Review

Glass Sword CMy Rating:  4/5
About:  Glass Sword (Red Queen #2)
Written By:  Victoria Aveyard

My Review:  OH MY GODS, THIS BOOK.

Glass Sword is the sequel to Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard. And you should know, it picks up IMMEDIATELY where RQ left off. There are no flashbacks, no “last time on,” or anything like that. Oh, things will slowly come back to you as you continue to read, but I HIGHLY SUGGEST looking for a resource online with a basic outline of all the exciting things that happened in RQ as a refresher. There’s a great post on EpicReads with a nice full recap to get you ready!! USE IT. Or go ahead & do a Red Queen re-read. Nothing wrong with that.

Now that that’s out of the way, you should know that I love this book. I’m usually not into high fantasy, but this series is a blast. I picked up the signed special edition that Barnes & Noble was selling, complete with an alternate ending for Red Queen & an alternate opening chapter for Glass Sword at the end, with a cool pull-out poster guide to the Silver elite. It’s cool. I’m glad I bought it!

I am a big fan of Aveyard’s writing style. It’s fast-paced & her descriptions are magical. She has a background as a screenwriter, & I feel that that experience really helps in her novel writing. She’s great at painting beautiful landscapes & creating characters that you can’t help but feel many things for. Love, hate, everything in between. ALL THE FEELS!

Glass Sword is much longer than Red Queen. It starts with betrayal, it ends with sacrifice, & everything in between is just action-packed & occasionally quite stressful. Any love is played out in what feels like a very natural way. No weird  insta-love that is so popular in YA novels these days. It’s refreshing.

There are a LOT of characters, & it can be a little overwhelming, but I felt that they were handled very well & I was never really confused as to who was who or anything like that. I found that I liked Cal a lot more here than I did in Red Queen & Mare just…..I love her. Her character development is painful, in so many ways, but it feels right. And the end? Oh, guys. The end. I won’t tell you what happens (I’m not that mean) but it made me feel things. I hate that I have to wait at least another year before the 3rd book.

I really can’t wait for the next installment.

One thought on “Glass Sword Review

Leave a Reply

