Book Reviews · Reviews

A Monster Calls Review

8621462My Rating:  5/5 Stars
About: 
A Monster Calls
Written By:
  Patrick Ness
Illustrated By:  Jim Kay

My Review:  Let me try to review this beautiful novel without spoiling anything.
So, without going into too much detail:

This is a children’s book. It is written by Patrick Ness, but the idea was created by Siobhan Dowd, who lost her battle with cancer in 2007 before getting to write the story herself.

I picked up the illustrated version, and I am so glad that I did. The art is absolutely amazing. Jim Kay has an insane amount of talent & I just really want him to illustrate every book on my shelves right now. If you’re going to read this book, make sure it’s the illustrated edition. You won’t regret it.

Patrick Ness is wonderful with words. This is my first book of his that I’ve read & I’m pretty sure that I officially need to read more of his work. Trying to find the best way to describe how he elicits emotion & paints environments with the way he writes is so difficult for me. I just don’t have the abilities he has.

This book hit way too close to home. It’s really no surprise, how it ends. The whole book is heartbreaking & you can’t help but feel for Conor.
What he’s going through, how he’s dealing with it, it’s hard.

God, do I understand how hard it is.

If you don’t want to cry, you’ll probably want to find a different novel to read. Because this story is not a happy one. But it’s amazing. In its own way.

2 thoughts on “A Monster Calls Review

Leave a Reply

