Book Reviews · Reviews

How to (Un)cage a Girl Review

Uncage FLBMy Rating:  3/5 Stars
About:  How to (Un)cage a Girl

Written by:  Francesca Lia Block

My Review:  How to (Un)cage a Girl is a short, 3 part poetry collection in celebration of  girls & women by one of my favourite authors; Francesca Lia Block.

I’m not exactly great with poetry. I like it, but I also don’t love it. I have a hard time “getting” poetry. I guess my brain just isn’t wired for it. But I adore FLB & her poetic writing style in her regular novels, so of course I had to read one of her actual poetry collections.

Overall, it wasn’t terrible. I have a love/hate relationship with the way most of the poems were written. Sometimes I’d find myself misreading a few lines & having to reread them to get the proper flow. A little irritating at times, but nothing too awful.

I had 2 specific ones that I absolutely fell in love with:
The Little Mermaid: For Ama
&
For Valentina

They were beautiful & really resonated with my heart.

If you’re a fan of poetry or Francesca Lia Block, I feel it is more than worth a read. It’s a pretty small collection, but there are plenty of poems inside. I’m sure you’d find at least one you’d like.

Leave a Reply

