Book Reviews · Reviews

Hunger Makes Me A Modern Girl Review

02-hunger-makes-me-a-modern-girl-carrie-brownsteinMy Rating:  5/5 Stars
About: Hunger Makes Me A Modern Girl
Written by: Carrie Brownstein

My Review:  I wasn’t sure what to expect when I picked this one up. All I knew was that I love Carrie Brownstein & I was so excited to read about her life as a musician. I had previously never known she had been in a band (I was boy band age when it all went down, nowhere near cool enough of a 7+ year old to listen to punk/rock) & couldn’t wait to hear about it in her own words. This was so much more than I could have ever anticipated. Carrie’s use of language is superb (a lot of new vocabulary for me!!) & I ATE IT UP. I felt so many things while reading. Laughs, tears, occasional unsettling feelings. It was quite the experience.

I haven’t read a nonfiction novel since my school days (almost 10 years?? jeez) & this was definitely the best choice I could have made while jumping back into the genre. Even if I don’t read another one after this. And, to be honest, I’m not sure another biographical novel could do what Hunger Makes Me A Modern Girl did to me.

If you’re on the fence of whether or not to read this one, let me help you decide;
Yes. Yes you should.

2 thoughts on “Hunger Makes Me A Modern Girl Review

Leave a Reply

